Dear Future Child

IMG_4504

Dear future child,

If it’s 3am and you find yourself in a world of complete despair.

Please do not turn to strangers on the Internet for solace as I did.

Please climb onto my bed and I will hold you until the demons sleep.

If it’s Thursday morning and you are too sad to move. I won’t force you. I will buy you ice cream and we will watch your favorite tv show and I will remind you of your importance.

If you feel as if you have no purpose, I will remind you that you were created entirely with love and every pain you feel, I feel too.

When you are sure you can’t go on anymore. I will tell you that when I was 24 searched for peace at the bottom of a vodka bottle chased by a few shots of tequila, hitting the road drunk.

If you ever feel like grabbing that vodka, put it down, we will get in the car and I will drive until the sky turns magenta.

I will show you how the sun rises every morning to encourage you to rise too.

Sweetheart, I refuse to be unaware of your sufferings, as my mother was to mine.”

Leave a Reply

